The Sign of the Four

Discover the timeless classic, "The Sign of the Four" book by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Join Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson on a thrilling adventure through Victorian London, solving mysteries and unraveling secrets. A must-read detective novel with captivating storytelling.
0/5 Votes: 0
written by
Arthur Conan Doyle
3.3 MB
Reportar esta File



“The Sign of the Four” is a thrilling detective novel written by the renowned British author, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. First published in 1890, this is the second novel in the Sherlock Holmes series, featuring the legendary detective Sherlock Holmes and his loyal companion, Dr. John H. Watson. The book is widely regarded as one of Doyle’s finest works and has captivated readers for generations with its intriguing plot, well-crafted characters, and masterful storytelling.

Read Also : His Last Bow


Set in late 19th-century London, “The Sign of the Four” begins when Mary Morstan seeks the help of Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson to solve the mysterious disappearance of her father and the regular receipt of valuable pearls from an anonymous sender on her doorstep. Holmes, with his keen intellect and remarkable powers of observation, delves into the case. He soon discovers that the pearls are sent annually by a mysterious figure, and this leads the duo on a thrilling adventure that involves stolen treasure, a one-legged man, and a small boat chase through the Thames.

As the story unfolds, a complex web of deceit, betrayal, and revenge is revealed, and Holmes must use all his deductive skills to solve the puzzle. The plot thickens when two Indian men, Thaddeus Sholto and his brother Bartholomew, enter the scene, revealing their connection to the treasure and the secrets of their family’s past. The novel takes readers on a suspenseful journey through London’s dark underbelly and ultimately leads to a dramatic climax where justice prevails.


“The Sign of the Four” has received widespread critical acclaim over the years, and readers have praised Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s masterful storytelling and the dynamic relationship between Holmes and Watson. The novel’s engaging plot and clever twists have cemented its place as one of the best detective mysteries ever written. Reviewers have often applauded Doyle’s ability to create vivid and memorable characters, making the story all the more compelling.

The portrayal of Sherlock Holmes as a brilliant, eccentric detective has been a highlight for readers, with many commending Doyle for his unique and imaginative creation. Additionally, the novel’s setting in Victorian London adds to its charm, allowing readers to immerse themselves in a bygone era.


“You have a grand gift for silence, Watson. It makes you quite invaluable as a companion.” – Sherlock Holmes.
“I am lost without my Boswell.” – Sherlock Holmes, referring to Dr. Watson.
“How often have I said to you that when you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth?” – Sherlock Holmes.
“I never guess. It is a shocking habit—destructive to the logical faculty.” – Sherlock Holmes.
“My mind rebels at stagnation. Give me problems, give me work!” – Sherlock Holmes.


Q : Is “The Sign of the Four” suitable for readers new to the Sherlock Holmes series?
A : Yes, it can be enjoyed as a standalone novel, but reading the previous book, “A Study in Scarlet,” will provide a deeper understanding of the characters.

Q : How does the book compare to other Sherlock Holmes stories?
A : “The Sign of the Four” is considered one of the best Holmes stories due to its intricate plot and strong character development.

Q : Are there any film or TV adaptations of the book?
A : Yes, there have been several adaptations for both film and television, showcasing the enduring popularity of the story.

Q : Can you read “The Sign of the Four” for free?
A : As the book is in the public domain, it can be found for free in various digital formats.

Q : Is the book suitable for young readers?
A : While the language is accessible, the themes and complexities of the plot might be more appreciated by older readers.

In conclusion, “The Sign of the Four” remains a timeless classic that continues to enchant readers with its brilliant detective work, memorable characters, and atmospheric setting. Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s masterful storytelling ensures that this captivating novel will be celebrated for generations to come.