The Bands of Mourning

"Explore the enchanting world of 'The Bands of Mourning' book by Brandon Sanderson. Immerse yourself in a tale of magic, mystery, and adventure as characters race to uncover legendary artifacts. A captivating addition to the Mistborn series that will leave you spellbound."
0/5 Votes: 0
written by
Brandon Sanderson
4.9 MB
Reportar esta File



“The Bands of Mourning,” authored by renowned fantasy writer Brandon Sanderson, is a gripping addition to the Mistborn series. This novel, published in 2016, continues to captivate readers with its intricate world-building, multifaceted characters, and high-stakes plot. Set in a richly imagined universe where magic and technology collide, the book offers a thrilling blend of action, mystery, and exploration of human nature.

Read Also : Vicious


“The Bands of Mourning” transports readers back to the vivid world of Scadrial, a place where Allomancers harness powerful abilities by ingesting and “burning” specific metals. The story revolves around Waxillium “Wax” Ladrian, a lawman and Twinborn (possessing both Allomantic and Feruchemical powers), as he embarks on a quest to find the legendary Bands of Mourning. These mythical artifacts are rumored to grant the bearer incredible abilities, including the power to reshape reality.

As Wax, along with his trusted companions Wayne and Marasi, delves into the mystery surrounding the Bands, they find themselves entangled in a web of political intrigue, ancient secrets, and daring heists. The novel takes readers on a roller-coaster ride, filled with mind-bending surprises, heart-stopping action, and poignant character development. The stakes escalate as the team races against time to prevent catastrophe and secure the Bands before a nefarious group can unleash their devastating potential.


Critics and fans alike have hailed “The Bands of Mourning” for its masterful storytelling and innovative blend of magic and technology. The novel has been praised for its seamless continuation of the Mistborn series, introducing fresh elements while building upon the established lore. The character dynamics and witty banter between Wax, Wayne, and Marasi have been highlighted as particularly engaging, adding depth and charm to the narrative.

The intricate plot, filled with unexpected twists and turns, has been lauded for keeping readers on the edge of their seats. Sanderson’s skillful pacing and attention to detail contribute to the novel’s immersive experience, allowing readers to vividly envision the world and its wonders.


“The Bands of Mourning” is replete with memorable quotes that encapsulate the essence of its themes and characters:

“The past shouldn’t dictate your future. You should dictate your future.”
“In the end, a person’s strength can be the source of their downfall, as well as their power.”
“It’s not about being right or wrong. It’s about facing the truth, no matter how difficult.”
These quotes exemplify the thought-provoking nature of the narrative, inviting readers to contemplate the complexities of morality, power, and personal growth.


Q : Do I need to read the previous Mistborn books before “The Bands of Mourning”?
A : While it’s beneficial to have familiarity with the Mistborn universe, “The Bands of Mourning” can be enjoyed as a standalone novel. However, reading the preceding books can enhance your understanding of the world and its history.

Q : Is the magic system similar to the previous Mistborn books?
A : Yes, the novel continues to explore the unique Allomantic and Feruchemical magic systems. It builds upon the established rules while introducing intriguing variations and surprises.

Q : Are there easter eggs or references to Sanderson’s other works?
A : Sanderson is known for weaving his Cosmere universe together, and while “The Bands of Mourning” primarily focuses on Mistborn, keen-eyed readers might catch subtle references to other Cosmere works.

Q : Does the book conclude Wax’s storyline?
A : While “The Bands of Mourning” offers a satisfying narrative arc, Wax’s journey continues in subsequent Mistborn novels, adding to the overarching narrative of the series.

“The Bands of Mourning” stands as a remarkable installment in the Mistborn series, showcasing Brandon Sanderson’s prowess in crafting intricate fantasy worlds and compelling characters. With its riveting plot, thought-provoking themes, and exhilarating magic system, this novel is a must-read for fans of epic fantasy and adventure.