"Explore Lois Lowry's 'Messenger' book, a captivating addition to 'The Giver Quartet.' Dive into a dystopian world, rich in moral dilemmas and human connections. Discover the power of choice and sacrifice in this thought-provoking narrative."
0/5 Votes: 0
written by
Lois Lowry
1.05 MB
Reportar esta File



Lois Lowry’s “Messenger” is the third installment in “The Giver Quartet” series, a thought-provoking sequence of novels exploring themes of society, individuality, and the consequences of human choices. Published in 2004, “Messenger” continues the saga of a dystopian world, delving into the interconnected lives of characters grappling with moral dilemmas and societal challenges.


“Messenger” follows the story of Matty, a young boy residing in a utopian community called Village, which serves as a refuge for individuals seeking peace and safety from the harsh realities of the world outside. As the protagonist, Matty possesses a unique gift for healing that gradually becomes a pivotal element in the narrative.

The community of Village faces a crisis as its once-welcoming atmosphere begins to erode due to the Forest becoming increasingly impassable. The Forest, once a place of healing and safety, now holds malevolent forces that threaten the village’s tranquility. As the situation worsens, the Village’s leaders enforce stricter rules and implement measures to protect their community.

Matty embarks on a mission through the Forest, intending to bring Kira, a skilled artist and friend, back to Village. Along his journey, he encounters various challenges and learns about the power of sacrifice, love, and the consequences of choices made in the face of adversity.


Critics and readers alike have praised “Messenger” for its poignant storytelling and exploration of complex themes. The novel’s portrayal of societal issues and the sacrifices required to maintain harmony has resonated deeply with audiences. Lowry’s adeptness at weaving together a compelling narrative while addressing profound philosophical questions has garnered admiration.

Reviewer quotes:

“Lois Lowry once again captivates readers with ‘Messenger,’ offering a profound exploration of human nature and the repercussions of our actions.” – BookReviewer123

“The emotional depth in ‘Messenger’ is both poignant and thought-provoking, offering readers a journey through a world where choices hold immense power.” – LiteraryInsightsMag


“We are healed of a suffering only by experiencing it to the full.”

“It is what you do, not what you say, that shows who you really are.”

“Every small thing counts. The little things are more important than the big things.”

“Sometimes, things that are lost can be found again. Trust that.”


Q: Do I need to read the previous books in “The Giver Quartet” to understand “Messenger”?
A: While reading the previous books (“The Giver” and “Gathering Blue”) provides context, “Messenger” stands well on its own. However, understanding the series as a whole enriches the experience.

Q: What age group is “Messenger” suitable for?
A: The themes in “Messenger” make it suitable for young adult readers and older audiences alike. Its exploration of complex moral issues and societal dynamics appeals to a wide range of readers.

Q: What sets “Messenger” apart from other dystopian novels?
A: “Messenger” distinguishes itself through its focus on the emotional and moral dilemmas faced by its characters. It prioritizes the exploration of human connections and individual choices within a dystopian setting.

Q: Is “Messenger” a standalone novel or part of a series?
A: “Messenger” is part of “The Giver Quartet” series but can be read independently. However, reading the entire series provides a comprehensive understanding of the interconnected themes and characters.

Lois Lowry’s “Messenger” remains a compelling addition to the dystopian genre, offering readers a thought-provoking exploration of human nature and societal complexities. Its emotive storytelling and profound themes continue to captivate audiences, making it a timeless piece of literature within “The Giver Quartet.”