His Last Bow

"Discover the timeless intrigue of 'His Last Bow' book by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Immerse yourself in Sherlock Holmes' final exploits and unravel thrilling mysteries in this classic collection. Get your copy today!"
0/5 Votes: 0
written by
Arthur Conan Doyle
508 KB
Reportar esta File



“His Last Bow” is a collection of seven captivating Sherlock Holmes stories written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. First published in 1917, the book serves as the penultimate installment of the Sherlock Holmes series, followed only by “The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes.” This collection delves into the final exploits of the famous detective and showcases his astute deductions and remarkable investigative skills. With intriguing plots and unexpected twists, “His Last Bow” remains a timeless treasure in the world of mystery literature.

Read Also : A Study in Scarlet


The book opens with the title story, “His Last Bow,” set in the midst of World War I. Sherlock Holmes, now retired and living as a beekeeper in Sussex, is called upon by the British government to thwart a German spy ring operating in England. Holmes cleverly infiltrates the spy network and prevents a catastrophic attack on British soil.

The subsequent tales feature various cases from Holmes’s earlier career. “The Adventure of Wisteria Lodge” involves the mysterious disappearance of a foreign guest and the discovery of two dead bodies in a secluded mansion. “The Adventure of the Cardboard Box” delves into a perplexing package containing two severed human ears. “The Adventure of the Red Circle” revolves around a woman’s search for her missing husband and a peculiar secretive organization.

In “The Adventure of the Bruce-Partington Plans,” Holmes is tasked with finding crucial stolen naval documents. “The Adventure of the Dying Detective” presents a cunning ruse by Holmes to capture a criminal by pretending to be gravely ill. Lastly, “The Disappearance of Lady Frances Carfax” leads Holmes on a trail of international intrigue and deception to rescue a missing lady.


“His Last Bow” has received widespread acclaim from both critics and readers alike. The collection showcases Doyle’s brilliance in crafting intricate plots and memorable characters. Holmes’s intellectual prowess and sharp wit continue to fascinate audiences, making this book an essential read for mystery enthusiasts.

Critics praise the seamless blend of historical events, like the backdrop of World War I, with the thrilling detective narratives. The stories not only entertain but also offer glimpses into the societal and political atmosphere of the time.

Doyle’s masterful storytelling and attention to detail have been commended for keeping readers engrossed from start to finish. The twists and turns in each story leave readers guessing until the final revelation, making “His Last Bow” a true page-turner.


“When you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.” – Sherlock Holmes
“There is nothing more deceptive than an obvious fact.” – Sherlock Holmes
“I am a brain, Watson. The rest of me is a mere appendix.” – Sherlock Holmes
“My name is Sherlock Holmes. It is my business to know what other people don’t know.” – Sherlock Holmes


Q : Is “His Last Bow” a standalone book?
A : No, “His Last Bow” is a part of the Sherlock Holmes series by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. It is the second-to-last collection in the series.

Q : Can I read this book without having read the previous Sherlock Holmes stories?
A : While “His Last Bow” can be enjoyed independently, familiarity with the previous Sherlock Holmes stories may enhance your understanding of the characters and their relationships.

Q : Are the stories in “His Last Bow” interconnected?
A : The stories in the collection are mostly standalone cases. However, “His Last Bow” sets a historical context with its title story, which is set during World War I.

Q : How does “His Last Bow” compare to other Sherlock Holmes books?
A : “His Last Bow” is regarded as one of the stronger collections in the Sherlock Holmes series. It offers a mix of intriguing cases and showcases Holmes’s prowess as a detective.

“His Last Bow” by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle remains an enduring classic of mystery and intrigue. With its captivating plots, brilliant detective work, and memorable characters, this collection continues to delight readers of all ages, solidifying Sherlock Holmes’s place as one of literature’s most iconic detectives.